Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
http://ausrock.blogspot.com/
 

Author Topic: Is this malware or a false positive?  (Read 684 times)

Offline Rosie125

  • Rock Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: 24
  • Hard Work Never Killed Anyone - why be the first?
Is this malware or a false positive?
« on: December 29, 2009, 03:20:10 PM »
Can anyone enlighten me on this?
I get a warning from Avast anti-virus only here and only in the Rose Tattoo thread.
Avast tells me to "press disconnect and it will block the download"
Here is the link Avast pops up:

Code: [Select]
http://pixhost.eu/avaxhome/avaxhome/2008-03-05/Black_Eyed_Bruiser.jpg\{gzip}

"My Poppy says I'm magic to him."

Offline stacky

  • Rock Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 399
  • Karma: 143
Re: Is this malware or a false positive?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2009, 06:53:05 PM »
I run avast as well & received the same warning Rosie-I aborted the connection-rest of the thread seems fine

Offline motcher76

  • Global Moderator
  • Rock Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 1742
  • Karma: 240
Re: Is this malware or a false positive?
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2009, 08:23:42 PM »
Hmmm, I get no warnings or alerts from McAfee (but that doesn't always give me peace of mind!!).

Looking at the page-code there's a curious cz-warez.info proxy call in one of the posts embedded in the image link (although the image itself doesn't actually display).

Perhaps that's what's causing the AV alert? If so, deleting the image link might fix it.

Cheers
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 09:04:26 PM by motcher76 »
"... Before you judge a man, first walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who gives a damn. He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!!..."   ;D

Offline motcher76

  • Global Moderator
  • Rock Elite
  • ****
  • Posts: 1742
  • Karma: 240
Re: Is this malware or a false positive?
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2009, 08:42:20 PM »
Just to test, and be on the safe side, I've deleted the image link from that post (the image doesn't display anyway).

Let me know if you still get the alert/warning in that Topic. If so, it must be something else and I'll restore the post-links.

Cheers
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 09:09:34 PM by motcher76 »
"... Before you judge a man, first walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who gives a damn. He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!!..."   ;D

Offline kelvin1962

  • Turbo Search engine
  • Global Moderator
  • Rock Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 6666
  • Karma: 548
  • The Search Engine Rules
Re: Is this malware or a false positive?
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2009, 09:23:20 PM »
upped to image shack  ;)


Offline Rosie125

  • Rock Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: 24
  • Hard Work Never Killed Anyone - why be the first?
Re: Is this malware or a false positive?
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2009, 10:00:50 PM »
From memory I think Avast may have mentioned an I-Frame.
But that's fixed it thanks guys.
Fast, professional service I must say.  :D

"My Poppy says I'm magic to him."

 




SMF 2.0.2 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
IMAP Aussie Servers © NL & USA. Servers
Enterprise © Bloc

Page created in 0.166 seconds with 17 queries.